MPOW Dunmer Wireless Bluetooth Headset

Since getting my MPOW Magnetos I hopped online to look at the rest of the MPOW product line out of curiosity.  I was attracted to the MPOW Dunmer because of it’s low profile design, and it’s specs that seemingly matched the Magnetos.  You might have guessed by now based on my reviews that I’m a huge fan of the lower profile designs.  I thought about saving up for a pair to use for work/etc, but then decided to ask MPOW for a review pair and they were kind enough to send me one in exchange for an honest review!  So!  Without Further ado …

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Sound – 5/5

So the Dunmers are a bit more moolah than the Magnetos at about $32 CAD… everything I talk about will be relative to that adjusted price.  With that disclaimer I gotta say, the Dunmers sound AMAZING.  Really.  They have a really balanced sound profile- I’m talking about juicy bass, warm mids, and crisp highs.  Pretty much the Magnetos with a higher mid-range sound.  They make a bit less of a seal around your auditory canal, so the noise cancelling isn’t as great, but they still do a good job.  Really though, the balanced sound made me so happy, as these will make a perfect pair for the office/house.  Classical music is warm and full, hip-hop sounds more rounded, and podcasts have a quality which makes the speakers sound closer.  This is a $32 win in my books.

Style – 5/5

Kind of the opposite of the Magnetos, actually.  Lower profile makes for a subtle look.  They definitely don’t stand out, and while I have no problem wearing the Magnetos at the gym, they might look a little weird in closed quarters and low-key situations.  I wouldn’t feel self-conscious with these guys at the coffee shop, or in my tie at the office.  They looks smooth, subtle, and simple.  Now they’ve lost a little bit of functionality without the magnets, so I probably wouldn’t use these at the gym.  I mean – I could just let them hang over my shoulders, but I wouldn’t like the insecure swinging that happens while jogging.  The deign of the “lobe-hook” to help keep the earpiece secure is subtle but functional.  The flat, rubberized anti-tangle cord of the Magnetos are gone, and replaced with a round standard-looking wire for a more inconspicuous appearance.  Another thing I love is that the battery and (I’m guessing) receiver/transmitter are built into the in-line controls. (Charging plug is in the control, rather than the earpiece of the Magnetos)

Durability – ?/5

So these are new for me, I haven’t run them through the ringer yet, but they are well built, much like the Magnetos.  One thing I did notice is that the control isn’t the same as the rubberized sweat-proof Magnetos.  It’s a lot more sleek, slightly more rounded/bulky, but it looks like condensation can get beneath the buttons.  I wouldn’t call this design “sweatproof” but I could be wrong about that.  I’d have to call these less durable than the Magnetos, but they certainly seem like, moisture aside, they’ll last.  The build quality from MPOW seems to be high quality as a standard.  If anything changes, I’ll be updating this line with a Durability rating and further explanation.

Function- 4.5/5

Alright, these guys are functional troopers. It seems like, compared to the Magnetos, there is a newer firmware for pairing.  I have yet to tell if this makes them more reliable for connection, etc.  They also seem to handle multiple connections better.  Something to mention about these guys is that they are LIGHT.  They’re probably half the weight of the Magnetos which means they’re harder to notice when they’re in your ears.  I think that because of this, they need less aggressive “lobe-fins/hooks” which makes these super easy at quickly putting in or removing.  It also makes them a lot more comfortable for longer sessions.  The pairing is as easy as the Magnetos, and the reception range seems to be a little bit further.  They work just as good as the magnetos for running, I’ve never had them feel like they’ll slip out, they’re great for rowing and biking, and just all around wonderful for casual listening.

Overall – 5/5

The Dunmers are awesome;These guys are worth a lot more than their buying price.  You’re not going to get Bose quality audio for $32 but I can’t imagine getting any closer to it for that price than the Dunmers.  I’m still preferring the Magnetos for going to the gym/mowing the lawn- they just have a little more utility when you’re moving around or being busy- but if I had to choose one or the other I’d take the Dunmers for their sound.  Even though these guys don’t seem they’ll take a beating or moisture like the Magnetos will, they still get an overall 5 for their value.

Leave a comment